Institute For Systematic Botany

The Institute for Systematic Botany (ISB) was formed in 1990 with mission to promote basic research in plant systematics and to coordinate research, educational, and service programs at the University of South Florida.

Current research projects at the ISB include the Atlas of Florida Plants, the Flora of Florida, and monographic and systematic studies.

The ISB provides support for the USF Herbarium. The ISB also supports the Tryon Lecture Series and brings research scientists to USF to interact with ISB members, and Department of Cell Biology, Microbiology, and Molecular Biology faculty and students.

 

Director

Richard P. Wunderlin

Research: Bauhinia (Fabaceae), Cucurbitaceae, Flora of Florida

Email: rwunder@usf.edu

More »

 

 

Institute Members

Kathleen Burt-Utley

Research: Begoniaceae

Email: kburtutl@uno.edu

 

Clinton J. Dawes

Research: Physiological ecology and structure of seaweeds and seagrasses

Email: cdawes@usf.edu

 

Frederick B. Essig

Research: Palm flora of New Guinea, Clematis (Ranunculaceae), carnivorous plants

Email: essig@usf.edu

More »

 

Alan R. Franck

Research: Flora and macrofungi of Florida & West Indies

Email: afranck@fiu.edu

 

Bruce F. Hansen

Research: Apocynaceae, Flora of Florida

Email: hansen@usf.edu

 

Diane Te Strake

Research: Mycology

Email: testrake@usf.edu

More »

 

John Utley

Research: Bromeliaceae

Email: jutley@uno.edu

 

 

Staff

Arian Farid, Curator

Email: arian@mail.usf.edu